Skip to content

Lab Safety Culture Award Winners

In order to promote positive change to safety culture in UT labs, the Lab Safety
Committee is continuing the Lab Safety Culture Awards Subcommittee this year. The theme for the first category of awards of 2024 was making a meme to describe the difference between safety and safety culture.
Quarter 1 awards were distributed in April 2024:
1st place: Ryan Simmons – Post-doc in BCMB
2nd place: Kaylee Maret РGraduate Student in Physics 
3rd place: Sarah Brunty – Research Technician in BCMB
Congratulations, winners!
New lab safety culture award categories will be announced quarterly. Submissions are open to everyone involved in research or working in a lab, shop, or maker at UT. Announcements of new awards are sent through the Lab Safety ListServ, found on flyers around campus, and communicated during events. Please email Brian Ranger at to request to be added to the Lab Safety ListServ if you are not already enrolled.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.