Skip to content

Safety Committees


The University has a responsibility to provide a safe and healthy environment for faculty, staff, students, and visitors, while completing University-related work responsibilities. The Safety Committee ensures there is an infrastructure that provides proactive identification, evaluation and resolution of hazards for the safety and health of employees, students, and visitors.  The Committee oversees safety-related matters for the campuses of the University of Tennessee Knoxville and the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture (UTIA) campus in Knoxville.  UTIA personnel and operations that are not based on the agricultural campus in Knoxville (as regular location of work) are excluded from the scope of this committee, although coverage may be extended to them via UTIA policy. The Committee reports jointly to the UTK Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration, the UTK Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement, and the UTIA Agricultural Research Dean.

Charter & Bylaws: Safety Committee bylaws




The University has a responsibility to provide a safe and healthy environment for faculty, staff, students, and visitors, while working in University-supervised instructional laboratories, research laboratories and academic support shops be they on- or off-campus.The Laboratory Safety Committee supports this responsibility through the proactive identification, evaluation and control of hazards in laboratories and academic support shops on campus or off-campus for the safety and health of employees, students, and visitors. In this context, the Committee is responsible for advising and providing guidance to the safety and research infrastructures for the campuses of the University of Tennessee Knoxville and the University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture in Knoxville.

Charter & Bylaws: 20150427-LaboratorySafetyCommitteeCharter

NamesOrganizationPositionContact
Terry HazenCivil and Environmental Engineering, Microbiology, Earth and Planetary SciencesChairtchazen@utk.edu
Bill DunneCollege of Arts and SciencesVice Chairwdunne@utk.edu
Sandra PriorEnvironmental Health and SafetyEHS Directorsprior@utk.edu
Lee JantzAnthropologyljantz@utk.edu
Mariano LabradorBiochemistry, Cellular, and Molecular Biologylabrador@utk.edu
Linda HamiltonBiosafetylhamil17@utk.edu
Brian RangerBiosafetybranger@utk.edu
Paul DalhamierChemical and Biomolecular Engineeringpdalhaim@utk.edu
Brian LongChemistrylong@utk.edu
Andy BakerCivil and Environmental Engineeringlbaker38@utk.edu
Sharon HaleCivil and Environmental Engineeringsfhale@utk.edu
Chris BoakeCollege of Arts and Sciencescboake@utk.edu
Chris FedoEarth and Planetary Sciencescfedo@utk.edu
Larry McKayEarth and Planetary Sciences, College of Arts and Scienceslmckay@utk.edu
Elizabeth DerryberryEcology and Evolutionary Biologyliz@utk.edu
Gong GuElectrical Engineering and Computer Scienceggu1@utk.edu
James CantuEnvironmental Health and Safetyjcantu@utk.edu
Pam KoontzEnvironmental Health and Safetypjkoontz@utk.edu
Scott MoserEnvironmental Health and Safetysmoser@utk.edu
Derek BaileyFacilities Servicesdbailey4@utk.edu
Mark WagnerFacilities Servicesmwagner1@utk.edu
Yingkui LiGeographyyli32@utk.edu
Kristen VandergriffGraduate School of Medicineklvandergriff@utmck.edu
John KobzaIndustrial and Systems Engineeringjkobza@utk.edu
Darcy RathjenJoint Institute for Advanced MaterialsD.Rathjen.JIAM@utk.edu
Sally FridgeLab Animal Safetysfridge@utk.edu
Doug AaronMechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineeringdaaron@utk.edu
William FerrellMechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering (Graduate Student)wferrel2@vols.utk.edu
Scott EmertNuclear Engineeringwemert@utk.edu
Ling ZhaoNutritionling.zhao@utk.edu
Lori ColeOffice of Lab Animal Carelcole21@utk.edu
Shawn CampagnaOffice of Research and Engagementcampagna@utk.edu
Robert NoblesOffice of Research and Engagementnobles@utk.edu
Christine CheneyPhysics and Astronomyccheney@utk.edu
Rosie MetalloPlant Science
Matthew CooperPsychologymcooper@utk.edu
Marsha SmithRadiation Safetymmsmith@utk.edu
Erin TuckerSchool of Artetucker8@utk.edu
Clayton FrazierTeaching and Learning Innovationcfrazie9@utk.edu
Don ConardTheaterjconard@utk.edu
Steve CrouchUT Institute of Agriculturescrouch4@utk.edu
Jacob PayneUT Institute of Agriculturejpayne@utk.edu
David WhiteUT Institute of Agriculturedwhite25@utk.edu


EHS participates in other safety and compliance committees such as:

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.